Get Alarmed Free Smoke Alarm Program

The Office of the State Fire Marshal has suspended the Kansas Firefighter Recruitment and Safety Grant program and the Get Alarmed Kansas smoke alarm program. 

We were forced to suspend these two programs for the current state fiscal year, July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, as our current level of available funding could not support them, and the legislature did not appropriate the additional needed funds for the grant program in our budget.

 Next session, it will be a priority of our office to request additional funding from the Insurance Premium Fund to include $400,000 for the grant program and to re-establish the Get Alarmed Kansas smoke alarm program. If the legislature approves that funding, we can reinstate the important programs in July 2021. 

Our office will be asking for the support of the fire service to contact their local legislators and share with them the importance of adding the additional funding in January when the session begins. It would be especially impactful for those departments who have benefited from the grant and/or smoke alarm programs to share their stories with their legislators personally.

Free Smoke Alarm Program

Get Alarmed Kansas allows trained volunteers to install free smoke alarms in homes. The program provides smoke alarms to Kansas fire departments. The department will then schedule a time to come and install the device(s).

Fire can grow and spread through a home in a matter of minutes. The advance warning provided by working smoke alarms save lives. Yet, in 82 percent of home fires in Kansas, a working smoke alarm was not present.

For more information, view a presentation on the program (PPTX) or a story on the program.

How You Know if Smoke Alarms Work

  • Pick a date and test your smoke alarms monthly using the test button.
  • Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for cleaning to keep smoke alarms working.
  • If the smoke alarm chirps, replace the battery immediately.
  • Change clocks, change batteries! Change the batteries when changing clocks in the spring and fall each year.
  • Replace all smoke alarms when they are 10 years old.

Get Alarmed Kansas Devices

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  1. For Fire Departments
  2. For Homeowners
  3. For Renters

Kansas fire departments interested in Get Alarmed Kansas may begin by reading the following handbook. If interested in participating, submit the Get Alarmed Order Form for Fire Departments. Access these documents and other helpful information: