KANSAS HOMEOWNERS
Free Smoke Alarms

Contact your local fire department
for more information.
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Download our PowerPoint presentation on the Get Alarmed Kansas smoke alarm program. This is great information on how the program works and is also useful for anyone giving a public presentation on smoke alarms.




Get Alarmed Kansas Devices

Smoke & CO Combo Alarm2017 (2)

DHH Bedside Shaker
 DHH strobe

DHH Strobe
 DHH strobe

Contact Information

Kelly Ingold
Office of the State Fire Marshal
800 SW Jackson, Suite 104
Topeka, KS 66612-1216

Phone: 785-291-3586
Fax: 785-296-8155
Email: kelly.ingold@ks.gov

Smoke Alarm Installation Program

Get Alarmed free smoke alarm program logo

Get Alarmed Kansas allows trained volunteers to install free smoke alarms in homes. The program provides smoke alarms to Kansas fire departments. The department will then schedule a time to come and install the device(s).

Fire can grow and spread through a home in a matter of minutes. The advance warning provided by working smoke alarms save lives. Yet, in 82 percent of home fires in Kansas, a working smoke alarm was not present.

  But how do I know if my smoke alarms work or not?

  • Pick a date and test your smoke alarms monthly using the test button.
  • Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for cleaning to keep smoke alarms working.
  • If the smoke alarm chirps, replace the battery immediately.
  • Change clocks, change batteries! Change the batteries when changing clocks in the spring and fall each year.
  • Replace all smoke alarms when they are 10 years old.

Kansas fire departments interested in Get Alarmed Kansas may begin by reading the handbook below. If interested in participating, submit the "Get Alarmed Order Form for Fire Departments" below.

For Kansas Homeowners

Kansas homeowners interested in receiving a free smoke alarm for their home should FIRST contact their local fire department. Many fire departments already have free smoke alarms available as they already participate in our program.

Eligibility

  • You must be a resident of Kansas.
  • Kansas homeowners can request a free smoke alarm by contacting their local fire department.
  • You must be a homeowner and living in that home (not rental property).
Information for Residents who are Deaf or Hard-of-Hearing
  • Residents who are deaf or hard-of-hearing can submit the order form below directly to our office.
  • These participants do not need to own their home to qualify.
  • Participants must be over the age of four.
  • Order form must have a signature from an approved certified professional. 

For Fire Departments


Installation instruction video for bedside shaker alarms:
http://lifetonesafety.com/page_id1085/

For Kansas Renters

Kansas Statute 31-162, The Smoke Detector Act, states, “The owner of a structure shall supply and install all required smoke detectors.” If you are a renter in Kansas and need smoke alarms, contact your landlord, who is required by Kansas statute to provide “at least one smoke detector on every story of the dwelling unit.” The renter is responsible for “testing and maintaining the smoke detectors after taking possession of the dwelling unit.”  The Get Alarmed Kansas program will not supply the owners of rentals with our alarms. They will need to get them from another source.