Jill Bronaugh
Communication Manager
Office of the State Fire Marshal
800 SW Jackson, Suite 104
Topeka, KS 66612-1216
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Press Releases

Governor Brownback Recognizes K-5 Fire Safety Poster Contest Winners

OSFM | Jan 25, 2018

Students from across the state recently put their creative talents to work to help spread the message about fire safety by participating in the Fire Safety Poster Contest conducted annually by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. The agency is delighted to announce the winners of this contest who will be honored by Governor Brownback and State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen at a ceremony in the Governor’s office Friday.

The winning posters, along with those earning Honorable Mention recognition, are currently being featured on a display in the Capitol Building rotunda and are highlighted in the 2018 Fire Safety Calendar.

The competition kicked off in October in conjunction with Fire Prevention Week. The poster contest is designed to support the fire safety education efforts of local fire departments. Participants were asked to use this year’s theme, “Every Second Counts, Know 2 Ways Out,” in their entries.

“Teaching fire safety to our youngest learners in Kansas is critical to promoting a safer Kansas for the future,” State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen said. “We very much appreciate the efforts of all students who participated, and the schools and teachers who recognize the importance of ensuring their students know about this important subject.”

Schools across Kansas encouraged participation from their students, who demonstrated their knowledge of fire safety that they have learned in school or at home. The Poster Contest was divided into grade categories: Kindergarten through 5th grade.


  • Andi Grable, Kindergarten, Troy Grade School, Troy, Kansas
  • Ella Grable, 1st Grade, Troy Grade School, Troy, Kansas
  • Nicole Wissler, 2nd Grade, Troy Grade School, Troy, Kansas
  • Blaire Beougher, 3rd Grade, Stockton Grade School, Stockton, Kansas
  • Mason Holmes, 4th Grade, Northeast Elementary School, Arma, Kansas
  • Emily Britt, 5th Grade, Central Junior High School, Columbus, Kansas

Several students’ entries are being recognized as “Honorable Mentions” and their posters are also featured in the annual Fire Safety Calendar along with the winners. Students earning Honorable Mention include:

  • Callie Anderson, Kindergarten, Kinsley-Offerle Elementary School, Offerle, Kansas
  • Sophia Ibarra, 1st Grade, Jennie Wilson Elementary School, Garden City, Kansas
  • Edgar Romo-Retana, 2nd Grade, Jennie Wilson elementary School, Garden City, Kansas
  • Sara Pando, 3rd Grade, Greeley County Elementary School, Tribune, Kansas
  • Hailey Nolan, 4th Grade, Greeley County Elementary School, Tribune, Kansas
  • Sienna DeFrain, 5th Grade, Pretty Prairie Middle School, Pretty Prairie, Kansas
CLICK HERE to see artwork