Jill Bronaugh
Communication Manager
Office of the State Fire Marshal
800 SW Jackson, Suite 104
Topeka, KS 66612-1216
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Press Releases

Gov. Brownback Congratulates Fire Safety Poster Contest Winners

Office of the State Fire Marshal | Mar 13, 2014

TOPEKA — Students from across the state recently put their creative talents to work to help spread the message about fire safety by participating in a poster contest. The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OFSM), sponsor of the first annual contest, announced the winners.

The competition coincided with Fire Prevention Week Oct. 6-12 with the theme “Show What You Know About Fire Safety.” The poster contest is designed to support the fire safety education efforts of local fire departments.

“The students who submitted artwork are incredibly creative,” said State Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen.  “They took a very serious topic, fire safety, and presented it in innovative ways.”

There were two categories in the statewide competition where posters were first judged by local fire departments. The top local entries were then submitted to the OSFM where a winner in each category was named.

There was a tie in the kindergarten through 3rd grade category; Steven Baker, a second-grade student at Broken Arrow Elementary in Johnson County won first place. Steven is the son of Mike and Karen Baker of Shawnee, Kans. Also winning first place is Holly Forge, a second grader from Pleasant Ridge Elementary in Leavenworth County. Holly is the daughter Mike and Lori Forge of Easton, Kans.

Taking top honors in the 4th through 6th grade category was Mady Trower, a fifth-grade student at Genesis Christian Academy in Leavenworth County. Mady is the daughter Travis and Becky Trower of Basehor, Kans.

All poster submissions will be displayed in the State Capitol rotunda Jan. 21-24. The three state-wide winners will be invited to meet Governor Sam Brownback and Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen at a later date where they will be presented with a certificate. 


Steven Baker, Broken Arrow Elementary

2013 OSFM Fire Safety Poster Contest




Holly Forge, Pleasant Ridge Elementary

2013 OSFM Fire Safety Poster Contest



Mady Trower, Genesis Christian Academy